BE AWARE!!!

BE AWARE!!!

 

THIS IS A WARNING TO ANYONE WITH A COMPUTER; DESKTOP; LAPTOP OR NOTEBOOK.

 

If you receive a phone call from someone, possible with a foreign accent, saying they are from Microsoft put the phone down.

 

I received this call at 8am on Friday morning; the voice told me that my pc was at risk; it was slowing down; had a bad virus and was going to crash completely if I didn’t allow them to do something about it. At 8 o’clock in a morning my brain does not function at is best – but, I was awake enough to ask who was calling and from where, the answer, ‘Microsoft in London’. Suspicions roused, from London at eight in the morning? So I answered, ‘No you are not, get off my line’, and put the phone down. I wish I had caller identification on my landline.

 

On Friday afternoon I mentioned this to my granddaughter, ‘Oh,’ she said, ‘Mum’s had that and a few other people also. She then proceeded to tell me that one person she knew genuinely believed the caller and after giving him details about her pc, he said, ‘Now your credit card number, it will be £160’. Fortunately, at that stage she realised there was something wrong and did not give over the credit card details. But, she then began to worry about the details she’d already given and also, was it genuine and should she have paid up. In the end, she took her laptop to a dealer and had it all checked out. Nothing wrong at all, but she is still concerned that somebody has her pc details.

 

I have reported this phone call to Microsoft in London but have not had a reply.

 

 

Leave a Reply

